City Life

During a walk to the pharmacy with Alexa the other day our conversation got pretty philosophical. Well, not really, but I did reevaluate my aspirations of wanting to live in a city in the future. I grew up in a suburb about 5 miles outside of Pittsburgh, so I’ve always had access to the excitement and services a city provides. Then, when my family took a trip to New York City a few years ago, I fell even more in love with city life. So, for the past couple years, I have said over and over that I want to live in a big city when I grow up, but now that I’m living in one I’m starting to see past all the tall buildings and shining lights. Don’t get me wrong, I love Buenos Aires (and I think I can speak for us all in saying that we are having an excellent time exploring and finding all that this city has to offer) but I’m starting to see the downsides of city life after all.

Streets of Palermo

Even though Buenos Aires has beautiful, tree-lined streets, I miss the outdoorsy feel of living in a suburb (or in any other non-urban area). We have to walk 10 blocks to get to the nearest park, and sometimes that’s just a little too far. I miss having the option of easily escaping to my backyard and just reading in the hammock. I guess our residencia is located unfortunately distant from parks. (However, my parents were lucky enough to have a balcony overlooking a park when they were visiting last week!)

View from parents' apartment

I don’t know if this is just my own form of homesickness or if I actually don’t like city life as much as I thought. We’ll have to see how the next 4 months pan out…but I’m not giving up on my city-living dreams quite yet!

-Abi

Leave a Reply

