Scaling Walls in Spanish

I’ve been feeling more guilty all the time about not using the rock climbing gear that I got for Christmas since we’ve been in Buenos Aires, but yesterday I finally got my chance! Thanks to Rachita, a friend of mine from CEA, I spent the day at Peru Beach, a sports/recreation complex, with her & two porteños and got my climb on. It was a bit of an eye-opening experience because I could hardly remember how to tie my knots, & my arms gave out a lot sooner than I expected, but it was tons of fun nonetheless! It turns out that climbers are similar in all countries; everyone we met was super chill, friendly, & was simply interested in enjoying a beautiful day by climbing fake rocks.

They had a HUGE bouldering cave!


Rachita & I warmed up a few times on the easy wall🙂


New climbing friends: Nico & Alejandro


Almost looks like I know what I'm doing, huh?


The rock wall was outside, situated between a skate park, roller hockey rink, & a bar/restaurant, & right off of the river where a handful of people were wind surfing. As you can see, there were at least a few options to keep everyone busy. Now that I know where to go, I think I’ll definitely be heading back to Peru Beach to climb. It was a great break from being in the middle of the city & provided plenty of Spanish practice!

– Alexa

2 thoughts on “Scaling Walls in Spanish

Leave a Reply

