What do you call a vegetarian who goes back to eating meat?

… Someone who lost her veg-inity! HA! Come on, admit you liked it.🙂

In Argentina, Maddy was a hardcore vegetarian (as she has been for over 5 years), but I was kind of on the fence. I figured, I’m in Argentina, the Land of Many Steaks! Why not take a bite? Then I realized that the vegetarian dishes our host mom was making for Maddy looked a lot yummier, and, oh yeah, I don’t like steak. I had absolutely no problem being a “fake veg”, as some people liked to say, while in Buenos Aires. Spinach empanadas are the best! I’ve decided to stick with this habit while at Pitt to stay healthier and maybe to prove my vegetarian worth a bit, too.

This decision couldn’t have come at a better time since my mom and I had plans to go to Veggie Fest yesterday in Naperville, IL.

The place was packed with all kinds of vegetarian and vegan food vendors from all over the place (I saw a booth from New Hampshire!), chiropractors and other types of medical practitioners, land and wildlife preservation groups, cooking class instructors, alternative childcare, you name it! I think I was just expecting it to be a huge farmer’s market with food stands everywhere, so it was a wonderful surprise to have so many other options. After taking a quick look around, my mom and I dove right into the food court area to size up our options.

She settled on a veggie and fake chicken kabob. I was holding my breath to see what she’d think of the meat alternative, but she said it was good and was thinking about getting another one later in the day! See, it’s not bland being a vegetarian.

After a friend of mine bragged about his amazing falafel sandwiches he’d recently made, I had to try one out so I could compare the two. Verdict: delicious. We’ll see how his hold up.

We were lucky enough to be serenaded the whole time we were walking around. There was a really good bluegrass band, The Giving Tree Band, that was playing while we were there. It seemed like they pulled the whole place over to the stage – everyone loved them!


More veg heads than you'd expect, huh?

Speaking of everyone that was attending Veggie Fest, you can sure find some characters in the vegetarian/vegan community. My mom kept insisting that I take more creepy people-watching pictures. I was a little shy about it, but I managed to capture these gems:

Oops, got caught. Hadn't perfected my people creeping skills yet.


Honestly, how long would this take?

After all the snacking, people watching, music listening, and perusing through booths, I came away with a book entitled Eat Vegan on $4 a Day. My college roommate better look out!

Although different from what I expected, I highly suggest that anyone in the Chicago area check out Veggie Fest next summer. You don’t have to be a vegetarian or a vegan! They open their arms to meat eaters, grass eaters, and the veg-curious folks out there. I’m excited to see how creative I can get with making some fun veggie dishes at school. Now back to packing!

– Alexa

4 thoughts on “What do you call a vegetarian who goes back to eating meat?

  1. I wish I had known about this whole veg fest thing! I’ll admit I may have been willing to make the trek down south for something this cool🙂

  2. Pingback: The Official Falafel-Off | it's about argen-time!

  3. Pingback: An Eating Tour of Harbor Country, Michigan | it's about argen-time!

Leave a Reply

