MVM: Spanish Punks

Because I’m not cool enough to read on the metro like a majority of people do here (read: I’m too cheap to actually buy a book and/or own a tablet), I listen to a lot of music. Most of the time, I just hit “shuffle” and see what my iPod throws at me. Lately, for some reason, I’ve been getting tons of Blink-182, Fall Out Boy, Something Corporate, and various other pop/punk bands that I listened to circa whenever I started high school. Since the theme of this blog is currently most things un-American, I had to find the Spanish version of all that, of course.

El Canto del Loco isn’t actually a band anymore, but they’re one of the better-known groups from Spain and were nominated (and won!) things like Best Videoclip, Best Song, Best Group (all from Top 40 Awards), and Best Spanish Group (MTV Europe Music Awards). I have a few of their songs, but I hadn’t heard this one until it was on the radio at work one day. Since it was kind of an indirect throwback to stuff I listened to before I could speak Spanish, but in Spanish, I was a big fan. If you’re feeling angsty, have at it.

ALSO, because it’s called “Zapatillas” (“Sneakers”), it’s semi-relevant because I was in Almería watching a triathlon most of the weekend (I know, not very relevant at all). I’m sure you’ve always wanted to know what that was like, so don’t worry, I’ll tell you real soon.

– Alexa

One thought on “MVM: Spanish Punks

Leave a Reply

