The Job Hunt

All of us senior business students have been in a tizzy recently, freaking out about the future, finding jobs, and leaving the place we’ve called home for the past 4 years (or forever). I keep thinking, “no one told us this was going to be so difficult,” placing the blame on the people who I thought should have been holding my hand through this process. I immediately feel guilty thinking this because no one ever said it was going to be easy either.

I’m lucky in that I’ve picked a major and had an internship in a field I find very interesting, and I’m so happy a professor happened to mention my field in passing during a lecture freshman year, because without that, I can honestly say I’d be having a panic attack a day. So yes, I have found something I want to do. But that’s only the beginning. Now I have to figure out which company will be the best fit for me, and on top of that, where exactly am I going to live?

Whenever anyone asks me that very question – and whenever I ask myself – I can coolly say I want to work/live internationally. It’s what I’ve wanted to do for years, and I have no doubt in my mind that that is what is going to happen.

But the truth of the matter is: I’m terrified to up and move across the world.

As any of you who have been with us since the beginning, you know that this blog was started as a way for us to document our travels in South America when we were studying abroad in Buenos Aires. I survived that 5-month adventure, and I wanted to go back the day after I arrived home. However, studying abroad and working abroad are completely different. Alexa can provide a little more insight into this considering she actually has done both, but it also just seems like common sense. If I were to get a job in, say, London (my location du jour), I wouldn’t know a soul, I wouldn’t know the country – considering I’ve only been to Europe in my dreams – and I wouldn’t be anywhere near home. That’s terrifying! It seems like even the most basic things, like making new friends and, well, living in general, are amplified tenfold and are going to be the most difficult thing in the world.

I think (read: hope) these are feelings that run through everyone’s mind when they are contemplating life-changing decisions such as this. My biggest decision I have to make at the moment is whether I want to A. work for a company in a different country immediately after I graduate (this may be the only time in life when I am free from many binding financial obligations, other than paying back my loans. Upon graduation, I will have no car, no rent to pay, and all my friends will be going in their separate directions, as well.) or B. work for a few years somewhere in the US and get the chance the work internationally in the future (but I’ll have more material/financial things that I’ll be responsible for, like a car. Or a dog.)

I suppose no one really knows what is going to be the right decision in a situation like this. It seems like you just have to pick the path you think is going to be best for you and hope to god you’ll like it.

***

These are just a “few” of the thoughts going through my mind at the moment. Sorry if this post was all over the place, but I just wrote it how the thoughts were coming to my mind. And what better place to dish out your thoughts than the internet, right?

-Abi

5 thoughts on “The Job Hunt

  1. I love this post! I’ve been struggling with that same decision. First, I guess you have to have options on both ends to be able to decide whether to work abroad now or start out in the U.S. and as of now I have neither… Also, I think it will best to take a risk now before, as you said, we have responsibilities like a dog. Keep posting!

  2. Pingback: A Spin Around the Apple Orchard | it's about argen-time!

  3. Pingback: Stuff We Liked This Week: Volume One | it's about argen-time!

Leave a Reply

