The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

Every year, right before Christmas, I get as excited for the presents as I do for my one and only tradition: watching Love Actually.

Love Actually xmas

This movie consists of the one of the best ensemble casts, relatable plot lines, is set in one of the best cities I’ve never been to, and takes the cake for best opening monologue ever, courtesy of Hugh Grant:

Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion love actually is all around.

Man, those scenes in Heathrow Airport get me every time.

Around this time of year I find it is especially important to reflect back on the past year, going over all the happy memories, all the conversations you’ve had with close friends, all the new people you met, all the adventures, big or small, you went on. It seems as though if you do what you love, you are able to see the love around you. My approach, as you all know, is to see the joy in the little things in life, and try not to take those small moments for granted.

***

I have to say that 2012 has been one of my favorite years so far, and I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store for us!

Happy holidays everyone!

-Abi

2 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

Leave a Reply

