Throwback Thursday: Everything Points to Argentina

Thanks to my harassment via Twitter, Maddy and Abi can both vouch for me when I say that I’ve been a little Argentina-obsessed lately. I don’t know what it is, but the universe keeps leading me to all things Argentina: Buenos Aires blog posts, pictures of our favorite barrios, empanada recipes, and on and on and on forever. It won’t leave my head. Rather than let it continue simmering in my brain, I figured I’d dump all of my recent finds here to share with you. Tell me if I’m being crazy or if the rest of the world really is buzzing about Argentina lately!

Exhibit A:33 Things We Love About Buenos Aires

#16: Sunsets over Puerto Madero

#16: Sunsets over Puerto Madero

I found this Globetrotter Girls post on one of the blogs I read regularly, Twenty-Something Travel, as part of a compilation of what was good in the travel niche of the Internet for January. Commence serious nostalgia.

Exhibit B: Fernet con coca discovery

merritt fernet

Obviously, when you get a text from a fellow BsAs study abroad alum (see above: Merritt!) about a Pittsburgh tavern that has fernet con coca on the cocktail menu, you go. Immediately. You also don’t get upset when the place only has enough Fernet Branca for one drink because that’s what multiple straws are for, and even a little taste of the best six months of your life is totally worth it.

If you’re as intrigued as I was, check out 1947 because it’s awesome.

Exhibit C:Palermo y Belgrano

Gurruchaga - One of the adorable streets that was near our house!

Gurruchaga – One of the adorable streets that was near our house!

I follow I ❤ BA on Pinterest, and obviously, the name of this particular album caught my attention because it was in Palermo and Belgrano that we spent a majority of our time in Buenos Aires. Enter vivid daydreaming and more nostalgia.

Exhibit D: Pittsburgh empanadas

Pierogi or empanada? No one can be sure.

Pierogi or empanada? No one can be sure.

Remember our search for the perfect café that got carried over a bit into Spain? I just realized within the last week that we should have been continuing it in Pittsburgh! Seriously, what’s wrong with us?

Anyway, in an effort to see more of the quirky side of Pittsburgh, I stopped at a little café in the neighborhood of Polish Hill called Lili Café. Thought I’d grab some tea to warm up after traipsing through snow in the Strip District, but lo and behold, there were empanadas on the menu. Not just any empanadas, I might add, but potato/white cheddar/rosemary empanadas. If you think that I stood drooling while staring at it through the case and impulse bought the last one, you’re absolutely right. The funny thing is that the potato filling made it just seem like a pierogi in an empanada shell. That’s so Pittsburgh.

Exhibit E: Gaucho

The day has finally come. An Argentine restaurant has invaded Pittsburgh.

gaucho

As mentioned before, Abi, Maddy, and I are in the Society for International Business at Pitt. Apparently, we’ve trained everyone well because one of our freshmen members posted an article on the club’s Facebook page about Gaucho Parrilla Argentina in Pittsburgh’s Strip District just days after its doors opened. If we have anything to say about it, there will be a club trip to the restaurant ASAP.

Exhibit F: My response to this onslaught in the form of food

What else is there to do but make some emps?

What else is there to do but make some emps?

This deluge of Argentine greatness bursting forth from the back of my mind just can’t be ignored. Rather, I plan to fully embrace it. How so? By fumbling through another attempt at making empanadas, of course! This time, I’m going less traditional with a recipe for sweet potato and black bean emps. I’ll let you know how that goes.

So, what’s the conclusion? Am I going through some PTSD (Post Travel Stress Disorder)-induced obsessing, or is life trying to point me somewhere?

– Alexa

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Everything Points to Argentina

  1. Che.I guess that the two years mark since you leave your country to come to mine is affecting you 🙂 Hopefully in a good way 🙂
    Have a wonderful week Alexa!!

Leave a Reply

