Summer In “The Zoo” Part I

So I know I said that I was going to do just summary post of my summer, but then I decided that I had too many photos that I wanted to share and would instead split my summer into two posts.

First off, the title – yes, some people really refer to Kalamazoo, MI as “the zoo.” Since I am not a big fan of living in a zoo, I’ll stick with Kalamazoo, even if it is *gasp* three syllables. So, my first exciting adventure in Kalamazoo was rock climbing (indoors, but still super fun). One of my roommates apparently did a lot of rock climbing back at school and found a gym in Kalamazoo. She convinced me to go with her because they had all these special nights (two college nights and a ladies night) each week where it was $20 for a belay lesson (required once in order to climb), equipment rental, and climbing! The next time we went, we just bought a month’s pass.

Image

Ahhh, I’m so high!

This wall actually spans 3.

This wall actually spans 3.

One of our favorite things to do this summer (besides rock climbing) was go to movies because  we lived near a theater that was $5 with your student ID every day, all the time, for any movie! Yeah, my roomies (one of which is pictured above in the green – Hi Kathleen! Kathryn served as our photographer and Lilli never came with us) and I were excited.

My roomie Kathleen is an aerospace engineering major, so we of course hit up the Air Zoo (www.airzoo.org) and an air show in nearby Battle Creek. Both  of which were actually quite fun and interesting, so I was fine with being dragged along.

Not a great picture, but it's the Thunderbirds! So cool!

Not a great picture, but it’s the Thunderbirds! So cool!

IMG_0756

The best part about working for the vehicle group? Testing the products (in this case transmissions)!

IMG_0757

Someone let me drive this? Fools.

A real Blackhawk! Geek moment :)

A real Blackhawk! Geek moment 🙂

Well we couldn't only look at planes - the kiddy rides were just too tempting!

Well we couldn’t only look at planes – the kiddy rides were just too tempting!

My orientation was in Cleveland, where my friend was working, so we celebrated the start of our internships with frozen berry margaritas. The mango margaritas came at dinner the night before.

My orientation was in Cleveland, where my friend was working, so we celebrated the start of our internships with frozen berry margaritas. The mango margaritas came at dinner the night before.

Leave a Reply

