Life Announcement: Moving South

It’s been a whirlwind semester.

Actually, it’s been a pretty crazy month, mostly.

No, I’ll be honest… this past week has been ridiculous.

It’s finals week, which is all fine and dandy. On top of all the projects and huge papers (hey, 15-page honors psych paper… Who signed me up for that?), I was given my location options for my job. Oh, wait. I never actually told you about the job offer I accepted? Huh. Here’s a hint.

If only the offer had come in this form.

If only the offer had come in this form.

You’re reading words written by a future sales rep for the Hershey Company. As I’ve been telling people who know of my addiction, my lifetime dedication to chocolate is finally paying off! Literally.

So back to location options.

I had been telling all of my (many, many) Hershey interviewers that I really wanted to stay in Pittsburgh for these first couple of years after college. I kept my fingers crossed, but I guess it just wasn’t meant to be. Imagine a map of the United States that was used as a dartboard on a Saturday night at a dive bar in a college town, and you pretty much have what my options looked like. ALL. OVER. THE. PLACE. I had some thinking and narrowing down to do. Welcome to the past week of my life.

This brings me to the next announcement because I figured it out! Come June, I’ll be moving to…

san_antonio

Can’t tell? Hold on. I’ll zoom out.

Texas-flag-lone-star-state-e1356281927182

Yes, that’s Texas. I am not only a future employed person but also a future San Antonian. My mom ventured around Texas in her 20s, so I guess it’s my turn, huh?!

Even so, I have close to no idea what I’m getting into, so if anyone knows people in the area or has suggestions of where to live, what to do, how to not look like a totally clueless out-of-towner, etc., I would much appreciate it.

Also, come visit me!

– Alexa

9 thoughts on “Life Announcement: Moving South

  1. I will definitely come and visit you! Tex mex food, warm weather, Austin close by… what’s not to love? You are going to fit right in (except for being a tall red head which is an affliction that makes you stand out EVERYWHERE- as I can attest to!) Very exciting!

  2. Congratulations, Miss A! I actually have a conference that I will be attending in San Antonio in September. As long as you don’t mind older company, I will love to hook up with you! Enjoy your trip!

  3. Congrats on the job!!! San Antonio is nbeautiful and one of my favorite cities so you can definitely expect a visit from me🙂 I don’t envy having to move in June in Texas, but the heat really isn’t as bad as I had expected at least (I was there in June or July).

    • Yeah, that’s one of the things that will take some getting used to. You’ll have to come down during the less scorching months and show me the parts that you liked!

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Well, there is no room for a excuse not to come see your 3 cousins and Aunt!!! You will love it in San Antonia. You have the Texas history, the River Walk, real Tex-Mex food, venture out a little to the rolling hills and rock in the Canyon Lake area (where we lived for a year), you have Austin just up the road and so on. So extremely proud of you and thrilled for your new adventure that brings you to this step in your life. Now, hopefully your “dad” will be visiting more also!!
    Way to go!!
    Love, Aunt Dani

  5. Alexa, You also have so much entertainment there. New Braunfels, the River for tubing, Sea World, Six Flags, shopping and night life!! Your Spanish skills will be handy. Warm weather but no humidity. Texas has snow, mountains, Gulf waters, and forest. all depends on the direction you want to travel.
    Congrats again!! Doe’s this mean we get some free candy now too???

  6. Pingback: Everything’s… Different in Texas | it's about argen-time!

Leave a Reply

